Travel: Che Bella Roma

Back from a 3 day Rome trip. I went by myself — my very first solo trip.

I am so excited about everything that I did in this trip. All the things I’ve learned during college pretty much came to life during this trip. It was a different feel that what I expected. A bustling city especially around the tourist areas and way more hawkers than here in Bologna.

Anyway, I’ll let the pictures speak for itself. Go to my Facebook page for more (I have about 100 pictures to upload of the Roman Forum alone).

That’s one city off my list!

I downloaded Rick Steve’s Audio Guide of the Forum and upon listening to the first part of it, especially about the Basilica di Constantino, I got goosebumps. The way he described this church, you could literally feel as if you were standing there during the ancient times. The picture that you see here is only part of the church, note that where this picture is taken is actually inside of the basilica. These niches are actually one side of the church and the only surviving part of it.

My jaw literally dropped when I saw this “School of Athens” painting by Raphael. College memories started coming back to me. I love this painting. I loved it so much that I bought a copy of it at the gift shop. This baby will be hanging on a 8×10 frame one day.

On my last day, I trekked down (and by that I mean took two buses) to go to the Trastevere neighborhood for lunch. I’ve been hearing and reading a lot about the restaurants in the neighborhood and how the people there consider themselves the only true Romans. I stumbled upon the restaurant called La Scaletta while walking from another restaurant (one that was suggested to me by my colleague, but when I got there, there was a wait and I was already hungry, so I decided to stroll around to see if there were any other restaurants). Anyway, I was so glad that this was my last restaurant stop for this trip as it was definitely traditional Roman food. I got to dine in with some locals (or at least Italians), and they were checking out the food that I was eating and probably wondering why I am all alone (because Italians are naturally curious people). Anyway, I had pasta, oxtail (coda di varicalla), and wine.

Pasta All’Amatriciana – with bacon bits. The only picture that I took.

I’m definitely going back there the next time I come.

I will be coming back one day. I feel like I barely scratched the surface of the city even though I spent most of my time really seeing all the main attractions. The next time I come it will be all about discovering the food and the nightlife of the city.

Till the next trip! Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

