My History with Pasta Amatriciana

Pasta Amatriciana

I cooked this using substitutes instead of the original ingredients.

  • Bacon instead of guanciale (pork cheek)
  • Macaroni noodles instead of bucatini (long tubular noodles)

I met this pasta during my first trip to Rome last year. I was walking around the Trastevere neighborhood and happen to stumble upon a restaurant called “La Scalleta”. It was lunch time, so I went in to try it out.

I ordered Pasta Amatriciana (and an osso buco style dish, which I will talk about at a later post). I instantly bonded with the pasta of course, because it was REALLY good.

When I returned to Bologna, I told my Italian roommate about this encounter with the Pasta Amatriciana. She told me that she knows how to cook it and proceeded to tell me that she can teach me how to. Of course I didn’t pass up on that offer.

The pasta became my go-to meal during my second and third semester at school because it was that kind of meal for a student.

See the recipe here.

Leave a Reply

