meatless diet for 40 days

I challenged myself this lent season to not eat beef, pork, and chicken. I figured going pescatarian for forty days might do some wonders on my physical and mental state. 

In addition, it’s also a great way to introduce a series for the blog. Let’s call it, “meatless diet for forty days”. Catchy, isn’t it? 

We’ll start with stir-fry vegetables with poached egg and packaged soup

20140310-014145.jpg

Recipe

  • collard greens
  • fennel or anise – can somebody tell me the difference? Cause I sure can’t
  • edamame – I use the packaged ones you find in the fridge section of your grocery store.
  • roasted pine nuts
  • lemon juice
  • minced garlic
  • EVOO
  • salt
  • poached egg (Don’t know how to poach an egg? Watch Julie & Julia, that’s how I learned!)
  • packaged or canned soup (optional)

1) Saute minced garlic in EVOO until brown.

2) Add collard greens. Saute, saute, saute until you see it start to wilt.

3) Add pinch of salt. 

4) Saute some more. 

5) Taste the collard greens to see texture. If it still tough to chew, saute.. saute.. saute. 

6) Taste it again. If you can handle the texture, add fennel/anise. Saute again. 

7) Taste the collards again, if it taste tender and not tough at all to chew, add edamame. Saute. Sprinkle some lemon juice in there while you’re at it. 

8) Taste your concoction. If the texture and taste is to your liking, plate it. Otherwise, add more salt (or lemon) and then, guess what? Saute some more. 

9) Once you get tired of sauteing, plate your concoction. You can follow how I did it on the picture above – placing the poached egg on top of the veggies or feel free to create your own masterpiece. 

Couple of notes: 

1) The yellow stuff you see in the picture is packaged broccoli and cheese soup. My mom bought it at TJ Maxx, so I’m not quite sure where else you can source it. I added it for extra flavor, but again that was my preference. 

2) I don’t measure my ingredients (I know, the horror!) as I prepare my food base on the length of time I would like to eat it. For example, if I want to eat it for two days, I eyeball my ingredients to accommodate that length of time.

Leave a Reply

