9/6: Failure Resume

originally posted on 2/27/2013:

I read about writing your own “failure resume” from the Brazen Careerist blog. It was such a great idea that I am finally going to start and do my own.

Failure: Answering with generalizations.

I am guilty of this and I know that I will feel embarrassed when my English/Literature professors who ALWAYS placed a lot of importance on giving concrete examples, read this.

I think the problem lies in the fact that giving out generalizations is easier. You can blurt it out faster and you don’t even have to think twice about it. With concrete examples, you will have to think harder and often ask yourself, is this the right way to prove my generalization?

Rectification: Practice writing with concrete examples. When talking always give concrete examples, do not just say “I don’t know”.

Just like how Twitter taught me to be more simple and “to the point”, I will carve out a time in my day to read articles and analyze how the authors juxtaposed generalizations and concrete examples. Then, I will generate posts of the stuff that I care about and give concrete or graphic examples of them. Finally, when I talk to individuals, I will “air slap” myself if I start drifting off to generalizations.

What are the things you would add to your failure resume? Leave a comment below!


 

Let’s have a conversation! – @lianepamuspusan

Leave a Reply

