Jazz Age Lawn Party 2014

This past weekend I had the opportunity to go to a fabulous jazz event aptly called “Jazz Age Lawn Party” at the Governor’s Island.

In essence, the event travels you back in the 1920s when flappers, gangsters, moonshine, and art deco were the word of mouth. Everyone in attendance were dressed to the theme, brought picnic baskets and blankets, and set up shop on the grass or sand to listen to the jazz music that played in the background.

It was one of the best people watching experience I’ve ever had in the city and silly me forgot to bring the memory card for my DSLR, so instead I bring you pictures from my phone:

IMG_2437.JPG

I love this picture. You could tell by just observing her facial features that she was a flapper back in the day. I also love the way I juxtapose old and young here.

IMG_2433.JPG

I give props to anybody who can make an outfit from one era conform to another. Her name is Sarah (sorry if I spelled it wrong!) and according to her, this outfit used to belong to her aunt. This one is also Bill Cunningham approved because he took her photo from so many angles.

IMG_2435.JPG

What’s a jazz party without the dancers with feathers?

IMG_2436.JPG

The dapper guy is Michael Arenella, the person who came up with this event 10 years ago.

IMG_2434.JPG

This experience was made even more special because I saw Bill Cunningham in person. I wish I asked to take a picture with him, but I was too awestruck to even think as I watch him do his thing.

Leave a Reply

