Grateful

I discovered a new app yesterday (thanks to this Design Sponge post) called Happier. In a nutshell, this app is an electronic form of a gratitude journal where you list everything that makes you happy. I started using the app yesterday and now it sparked me to start a blog series about the things I am grateful for. 

Let me start this series with Italy.

 Vatican City

 

I studied Roman history back in college and since then I yearned to see and experience all the places I learned about. Fast forward to 2011, I packed my bags and flew to Bologna, Italy, where I stayed for 9 months to study fashion and luxury goods business. The rest, I will say is history. 

Roman Colisseum

Living in Italy gave me the chance to immerse myself in a completely different environment. I learned the language, ate the food (duh!), and travelled from north to south. Of course, I visited all the places my Roman history college professor spoke about and to put it mildly, it was breathtaking. 

Italian Apartment Door

Living in Italy also gave me the opportunity to see how daily life functioned – it was FAR from the American way of life. The Italians live by the motto, “Dolce Far Niente” or “the sweetness of doing nothing”. Shops close on Thursday afternoons. Internet connection will not be installed the day after you call it in, but rather 4 months after the fact. Transportation strikes do happen and if they do, best that you chill out. Wine during lunch time is a must. American latte equals cappuccino in Italy (Latte means “milk” in Italy, so beware). 

Italian Coffee

 

Living in Italy gave me a sense of the world outside of the one I created before. It opened my eyes to a ton of possibilities and connected me with people from different worlds. 

Tell me, what are you grateful for today? Do share via comments below or tweet me @lianepamuspusan

 

Leave a Reply

