Cibo: Sunnyside’s Takesushi

If you’re an uni sushi (sea urchin) lover, then you’re familiar about how this dish can set you back a few dollars. Sunnyside’s Takesushi is the only sushi restaurant I have been to that offers uni-centric dishes at reasonable prices. Now, if you are a sushi connoisseur you may wonder, how fresh is the uni? Quite fresh actually because the owner, Robin Kawada, is passionate about fresh food. Every morning, he visits the New Fulton Fish Market to purchase the best and freshest fish available.

I’ve been to this restaurant three times now and it’s the only sushi restaurant I would frequent as a Sunnyside local. The place is accessible from the 40th St stop of the 7 train and within just a few steps, you will find it situated around the corner of 42nd street on the north side of Queens Boulevard.

It’s not one of those fancy sushi places that you would normally find in Manhattan, but the food here is on par with what you will find in a Manhattan sushi joint. I usually go during lunch time as I prefer their lunch menu (it’s also cheaper). They have a good selection of raw and cooked sushi, as well as, dishes for the non-sushi eaters. During my last visit, I ordered the Jennifer Roll (spicy yellowtail roll with fish eggs and scallions) and my go to dish, Uni Maguro Don (rice covered with uni and tuna sashimi). Robin, who is also the sushi chef, wondered if I would be able to finish both dishes did me a favor by cutting thin slices of the fish.

If you’re looking for a good place to take your Valentine this coming Valentines Day, then I highly recommend making the trek down to Sunnyside to eat at Takesushi. Your wallet, tummy, and date will thank you for it.

Leave a Reply

