National Reading Month

Did you know that March is National Reading Month? Well, in honor of that and my current drive to read books, I will start a series about books I recently read and finished.

Food Rules: An Eater’s Manual by Michael Pollan

Food Rules_Michael Pollan

Thoughts:

This is an easy read. With only 139 pages and each page having less than 200 words (give or take), you’ll finish this book within a day.

The book is literally a handbook on how to eat and how to do it the right way. It is divided into three chapters with titles that are based on the author’s conclusion from the massive research he did for his previous book and within each chapter are rules on how to accomplish each chapter’s premise.

  1. Chapter 1 – Eat food (What should I eat?)
  2. Chapter 2 – Mostly plants (What kind of food should I eat?)
  3. Chapter 3 – Not too much (How should I eat?)

What I got out of it:

Rule #10: Avoid foods that are pretending to be something they’re not. 

Butter = Margarine? Forget about it!

Rule #22: Eat mostly plants especially leaves.

Remember how Popeye loved his spinach so much?

Rule # 27: Eat animals that have themselves eaten well.

Have you tasted Kobe beef? Have you heard about how the cows this type of beef comes from are treated?

Rule #32: Don’t overlook the oily little fishes.

Sardines and anchovies = stinky little delicious fishes!

Rule #41: Eat more like the French. Or the Japanese. Or the Italians. Or the Greeks. 

Mediterranean and sushi diet all the way!

Rule #44: Pay more, eat less. 

Buying steak cuts from the local butcher is totally worth it than buying it at my local grocery store, especially here in New York.

Rule #51: Spend as much time enjoying the meal as it took to prepare it. 

This is a mantra I have to practice into my nightly cooking routine.

Next up … Julia Child’s “My Life in France”
2 thoughts on “National Reading Month

  1. I didn’t know he had another one out! I loved Omnivore’s Dilemma. I’ll have to check it out now. Thanks! If you’re ever interested in some other great reviews, be sure to follow! Thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

