Conquering Fears

Capri_Italy

How do you conquer your fears? Do you hide from them or face them head on?

I hear it’s better to face them head on.

There are many moments in my life where I’ve faced my fears and succumb to the dormant adventurous spirit I have. Take for example the chairlift I rode at Anacapri. I have this fear of heights – I imagine myself falling face down and splatting my head against a pavement or in this case rolling down the grassy, stony grounds of Mount Solaro. I will never remember how I managed to get on this chairlift, but I do remember how funny it was that I never realized I paid and lined up to cross Mount Solaro on a chairlift.

Capri_Italy

Mount Solaro Chairlift in Anacapri

It’s nice to know there’s a silver lining at the end of facing your fears. The view from the chairlift is really amazing and once you get to the top, you get to see the blue waters Capri is known for. Or look at this ubiquitous picture taken from the Cupola of St. Peter’s Basilica. I didn’t take this picture for fear of dropping my phone over the fenced area, but it was a worthwhile experience to see and take in.

Vatican City_Italy

Climbing the Cupola of St. Peter’s Basilica

Today, I have different set of fears I need to face. I’m currently having a hard time seeing the light at the end of the tunnel, but with the help of prayers to God and self motivation, the light will soon show itself and I’ll end up in the same place I was in Anacapri and Vatican City.

Leave a Reply

