Tuesday Travels to Bologna

I miss Bologna (Bo-lo-nya). My second home away from home.

I learned a lot living in this quaint little city. I explored every nook there is, though I know I missed some hidden treasures. 

piazza maggiore-bologna-italy-liane-pamuspusan
Piazza Maggiore, Bologna, Italy

Here are the top 3 lessons it taught me:

1. Independence

I became self-sufficient. Though in some respect I had help. My sister’s high school friend and her family helped me navigate the city. She took me under her wing as part of her family. My Italian roommate helped me through the apartment renting process. It was tedious and frustrating, especially if you don’t speak the language. I dealt with the bank on my own (thanks to my Italian lessons, I was able to brokenly speak with the tellers). 

bologna-italy-liane-pamuspusan
drinking caffe
2. Patience

Bologna taught me patience. It almost bypassed me because I was a stubborn Americanized person who didn’t know any better. I missed integrating myself into the culture of ‘dolce far niente’ (sweetness of doing nothing).  I took years off my life by stressing out about how I only got internet service 4 months before I left the country. In the end, what I got is a slap in the face “it doesn’t effin matter, you’re in Italy for pete’s sake”. 

bologna-italy-liane-pamuspusan
dolce far niente

3. Discovery

For the most part, I uncovered the city on my own. I went to places that only locals went to. Shopped at markets for fresh and local ingredients to cook at home. Frequented makeup and skincare indie shops – I literally became obsessed with beauty when I lived in Italy. 

bologna-italy-liane-pamuspusan
bologna, italy

Ah Bologna, mi manchi tanto. 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

